Home » Career Sector information » Creative Industries » 6 tips for working in illustration from Hennie Haworth a freelance illustrator.

6 tips for working in illustration from Hennie Haworth a freelance illustrator.

Creative choices logo 6 Tips for Illustration

Hennie Haworth is a freelance illustrator. She has worked with many major brands, including Waitrose and Vodafone. She shared six pieces of advice for illustrators starting out.

Hennie Haworth's illustrations have featured in many magazines, including Elle and Company. She has also worked with fashion designers.
Hennie Haworth’s illustrations have featured in many magazines, including Elle and Company. She has also worked with fashion designers.

Starting an illustration career

“I studied illustration at Brighton University. When I left, I worked in a school for a year as a chemistry lab technician.

“During that time I did lots of free work, often for not-for-profit magazines. I tried to get as much illustration experience as possible.

“You have to be really good at time management and at being self-motivated.”

“I developed contacts, and pestered magazine art directors to look at my work. Slowly, jobs began to come in, and slowly, I started getting paid for them.”

“Mainly I’ve learned skills on the job. At college, I hadn’t ever thought I’d want to be a freelance illustrator.

“I didn’t know what I wanted at the time, but the course was more geared towards fine art. It was only after I left, and thought ‘What should I do?’ that I started drawing.

“When I realised I wanted to pursue it, I got back in touch with my tutors and started talking about it with them.”

Read the full article here.

1 Comment

  1. oolung says:

    Cool, thanks for that. I need articles like this! 🙂

Leave a comment

